Past Forensics Data

View as Grid

In our last regional tournament of the year with only Nationals to go, the Point Loma Speech and Debate team captured the top Sweepstakes award against all 34 colleges and universities at the PSCFA Spring Championship hosted this past weekend at Cal State University of Long Beach. For time and budgetary reasons we only participated in two of the three days of events. This was a repeat of the team’s 4 year tournament sweepstakes win in PSCFA Fall Champs.

7 of our 10 teams advanced to the elimination rounds. In Parliamentary Team debate, PLNU teams won 3 Gold Medals, 2 Silver Medals, and 2 Bronze medals. The senior team of Caleb Moore and Thomas Routson won First Place going undefeated in four preliminary rounds and four elimination rounds. PLNU had the same medal count in the one on one debate events as well.

Congrats also to team president and senior Caleb Moore who won Second Place for the prestigious Bovero Award, which came with a nice scholarship. The award is for only two top seniors from the entire Southern California PSCFA community, and is based on competitive excellence, character, and community service throughout their four years in the activity. Thanks to the coaches, judges, and alumni for their help and support.

Named to the PSCFA All-Academic Team this year from PLNU for maintaining a 3.75 GPA and competing in a full slate of tournaments were:

Jake Bikle

Lucie Gillette

Nathaniel Hosmer

Hannah Kurowski

Tyler Schoenick

Here are the specific forensics awards won by PLNU students.

In Parliamentary Team Debate:

(6 of our 7 Open teams advanced to the elimination rounds, resulting in 4 of the 8 teams in Quarters and 3 of the 4 in Semis all representing Point Loma Nazarene University)

Senior Division:

Caleb Moore and Thomas Routson Gold Medalists – and tournament Champions

Nick Kjeldgaard and MacKenzie Leveque Gold Medalists – dropped in Semi Finals

Ali Cleveland and Gabby Kaufman Gold Medalists – dropped in Semi Finals

Sam Jones and Heritage Ganasi Silver Medalists

Montana Massone and Julia Shotwell- Bronze Medalists

Lucie Gillette and James Laky- Bronze Medalists

Junior Division:

Hannah Kurowski and Jake Bikle - Silver Medalists

Speaker Awards:

Senior Division –

Caleb Moore – Top Speaker

Julia Shotwell – Third Speaker

Nick Kjeldgaard – Sixth Speaker

Novice Division –

Aiden Carlson – Tenth Speaker

In Open Division Lincoln Douglas debate,

Julia Shotwell - Silver Medalist

In Open Division IPDA Debate:

MacKenzie Leveque - Gold Medalist

Sarah DiSalvo - Silver Medalist

Caleb Moore - Bronze Medalist

In Junior Division IPDA:

Hannah Kurowski – Gold Medalist

Nathanial Hosmer – Gold Medalist

Sam Jones - Silver Medalist

Jake Bikle – Bronze Medalist

There will only be Nationals in Colorado remaining for selected team members for this year's competition. Thanks for your continued support.

Cal State University of Long Beach

Thanks again to the many folks on campus who were so helpful in allowing us to host these two big speech and debate tournaments this past weekend. We had almost 40 colleges and universities attend from throughout the country (and three teams from China), and they expressed their genuine appreciation for the effort that goes into hosting these functions. We greatly appreciate the hard work from all of our support services folks and building area coordinators. It is hard to say whether we heard more compliments on the beautiful campus and view, the amazing catering, or the smoothness of all those events taking place on virtually every room on campus throughout the weekend.

But with so many hundreds of guests here 14 hours or more per day, we understand that there will inevitably be inconveniences that slip by our fine custodial staff due to the late hour we finish on Sunday night, and even by our student workers who do their best to restore order from chaos. So please accept our apologies for these inconveniences, and our thanks for your continued support and stewardship. Schools from around the country often use this as their reward tournament for their students, who work so hard and do so well throughout the rest of the year. And we met with some terrific recruits for next fall, and I am sure planted dreams with others. Now that we have so many graduate programs, that opens doors for recruits from four year schools as well.

As a host, I feel a little guilty though that our own students did so well this year. Normally they are so busy working they do not get a chance to compete much when we host. But we had so many other student workers lined up this year it worked out and they excelled. In fact in Parliamentary Debate we had four of our five senior teams advance to elimination rounds, where two won their way to the Semi Final round (the top four teams), and one of our teams (Caleb Moore and Thomas Routson) won the Championship Round for the first time in our school's history of about 20 years of hosting this challenging event. That combination of results may make this our strongest tournament of the year and could advance our chances of placing well in the national sweepstakes race for the end of the year.

Here are the other PLNU results.

Open Division Parliamentary Debate Caleb Moore and Thomas Routson – First Place Champions Nick Kjeldgaard and Mackenzie Leveque­ – Semifinalist Ali Cleveland and Gabby Kaufmann – Octofinalist Montana Massone and Julia Shotwell – Double Octofinalist Open Speaker Awards: Caleb Moore – Third Place Junior Division Parliamentary Debate Tyler Schoenick and Nicol Tanaka – Octofinalist Junior Speaker Awards: Hannah Kurowski – Sixth Place Tyler Schoenick – Ninth Place Senior NFA-LD Debate Thomas Routson – Quarterfinalist Round Robin Speaker Awards: Caleb Moore – Fourth Place Thomas Routson – Seventh Place

PLNU - Hosted Tournament 2 days