Past Forensics Data

View as Grid

PLNU debaters represented Point Loma well at this past weekend's PSCFA Spring Championship hosted by Moorpark College for 30 colleges and universities mostly from Southern California and Arizona, but from as far away as Eastern Michigan.  Noteworthy honors for PLNU students include: 

Two students named to the all academic team (Olivia Neidhardt and Jack Gillette) which requires a very high GPA and strong participation in forensics.

PLNU Senior and team President Frank Daniel was awarded the prestigious Bovero Award given to the community's top Senior, based on not only competitive excellence but also on service to the school and overall community. In addition to a nice award, Frank also received a monetary scholarship.

Due primarily to budgetary restraints we only participated in Parliamentary Debate at this tournament, but the students still competed at a high level.

Juniors Brandon West and Joshua Gilbert won Gold Medals in the Senior level Championship through winning their Octa final, Quarter final, Semi Final and Final rounds.

Also advancing to elimination rounds and winning Silver Medals in Senior Parliamentary debate by winning their first elimination rounds were the teams of Nick Kjeldgaard and Kasey Graves, and Caleb Moore and Frank Daniel.

Winning a Bronze medal in the Novice division was the team of Lillian Jenner and Ebanezare Tadele.

Winning top ten speaker awards were the following PLNU students grouped by experiential division:

3rd Place in Senior - Frank Daniel

4th Place in Senior - Nick Kjeldgaard 

6th Place in Senior - Brandon West

10th Place in Senior - Josh Gilbert

9th Place in Junior - Alan Jacques

6th Place in Junior - Thomas Routson

2nd Place in Novice - Montana Massone

3rd Place in Novice - Zach Springer

7th Place in Novice - Kristen Rosenthal

9th Place in Novice - Ebanezare Tadele

This concludes our normal competitive season and we just have a  few national championships to attend in Colorado and Missouri.  


PLNU is currently ranked 5th Place in the Yearlong National Sweepstakes Race, which includes colleges and universities of all sizes from schools as small as ours or smaller, to the U C Berkeleys and UCLAs throughout the country, also including University of Notre Dame, Wheaton, several military academies, etc.

Moorpark College

Here are the results from the inaugural American Enterprise Institute Debate Tournament co-hosted by Colorado Christian University in Washington DC on the weekend of
February 13-15, 2015.


PLNU took three teams, one in Novice (Montana Massone & Zach Springer), and two in Open (Caleb Moore & Frank Daniel, and Kasey Graves & Nick Kjeldgaard).  Awards were won by each of the three teams.

Nick Kjeldgaard was named the Top Speaker in the Open Division and Kasey Graves won Seventh Place, and Caleb Moore won Eighth Place Speaker in open Division, winning three of the top ten awards.  

In Novice Montana Massone won Third Place Speaker.

Frank and Kasey advanced to the quarter finals before falling on a split decision.

It was also great to see a number of former Point Loma alumni debaters and supporters while there at the tournament.

Not so great was the adventure of dealing with DC's worst weather of the winter and the worst seen in many years, probably since Snowzilla. While we heard Southern California was enjoying a heat wave in the 90s, DC weather reporters warned of, hypothermia, blizzards, wind chill equivalents of 20-30 degrees below zero and wind gusts between 50-60 mph at times, resulting in a state of emergency declared for the city as two of the three area airports were closed prior to our departure.  The next day the entire city closed down due to snow and cold.

Unfortunately the weather delays resulted in missing our connecting flight in Chicago forcing us to stay until late last night, and not actually  getting our luggage till close to 3:00 A.M..  Then that city got cold, very cold.  

But the students were phenomenal and Professor Melissa Lazaro did an amazing job.  We squeezed in as many cultural and historical sites as the weekend allowed.  We learned many important historical lessons, and most importantly learned that no one should ever leave beautiful, warm Point Loma.

Happy to have had the opportunity, but it is great to be back home.

Colorado Christian University, Washington DC