Cougar Classic Swing Azusa Pacific

Saturday, October 21, 2006 (All day) - Sunday, October 22, 2006 (All day)

Point Loma Nazarene University’s Speech and Debate Team won First Place Sweepstakes this Saturday and Sunday (October 21-22) at Azusa Pacific University’s Cougar Classic Invitational at which 34 colleges and universities from California, Texas, Arizona, and Nevada competed. The competition included such universities as UCLA, Cal Berkeley, Arizona State University and University of Texas, El Paso.


In the Senior Division of parliamentary debate, Angela Compton and Jordan Cherry, and Griffith Vertican and Tim Kamermayer both won their respective Octafinal rounds. Griffith and Tim lost in their Quarter Final Round. Angela and Jordan won their Quarter Final round and then dropped in Semi Finals earning Third Place awards. Angela won 7th place speaker and Tim won 20th place speaker.


In the Junior Parliamentary Debate Division Caitlyn Burford and Chris Gutierrez also won their Bronze round and dropped in the Silver Round. Caitlyn won Second Speaker in the Junior Division.


PLNU had four novice teams advance to the Bronze round, including:

  • Grant Beeson and John Walters
  • Lindsay Diederichs and Katie Lucas
  • Todd Heckman and Leia Larson
  • Stephanie Kennedy and Krystal Keys


Stephanie and Krystal went on to win this Bronze round and lost in the Silver Gold Round. Cody Ellis won 6th Speaker and Todd Heckman won 2nd Place speaker in the Novice Division.


In individual events, the following Point Loma students won trophies in the following events:

  • Griffith Vertican – Open Extemp 1st Place (Leg), Open Persuasion 3rd Place (leg)
  • Amber Briggs – Finalist Novice Prose
  • Cody Ellis – Finalist Novice Extemp and 3rd Place in Novice Impromptu.
  • Caitlyn Burford – Open Extemp 5th Place (Leg)
  • Jordan Cherry – Finalist Rhetorical Criticism.
  • Tim Kamermayer – Novice Programmed Interp 3rd Place (w/o a final round).
  • Lindsay Diederichs – Novice Impromptu Finalist.


Special thanks to Professors Lazaro and Livingston, and alumni LeAnn Wiley, Shannon Hutchison, and Dominique Marino for their help in coaching, judging or both.