PSCFA Fall Championship, CSU Long Beach

Friday, December 6, 2013, 7:00 am - Sunday, December 8, 2013, 8:00 pm
CSU Long Beach

The Point Loma Speech and Debate team competed against 40 colleges and universities from as far away as Eastern Michigan University at the PSCFA Fall Championship hosted this past weekend at CSU Long Beach and won Second Place in the four year sweepstakes division. Point Loma Nazarene University was singled out as the winner this year of the D. L. Miller honorary Perpetual Sweepstakes Award winner for many years of competitive excellence through the years. This is the second time PLNU has won this award.

Special congratulations to Daniel Robert Spencer for his Gold Medal in Senior Division Lincoln Douglas Debate, and to the parliamentary debate team of Dana Miyashiro and Olivia Neidhart who also won Gold Medals in the Junior Division.  This was the final tournament for seniors Christy Wright and Daniel Robert Spence who graduate at break, and for Kayla Cook who will be studying abroad in Ireland for her last semester.

And in the whole circle of life type theme, I was excited to be able to spend some time with at least 7 outstanding community college recruits who seem very interested in debating for Point Loma next year.  All come highly recommended by their coaches, and won impressive awards this weekend.


Here are the specific awards won by the students.


Lincoln Douglas debate:

Senior Division:


               Daniel Robert Spence – Gold Medal


               Chris Danks – Silver Medal


               Nick Kjelgaard – Bronze Medal


Junior Division:


               Lauren Jacobs – Silver Medal



Novice Division:

               Jordan Hill – Bronze Medal


In Parliamentary Debate:


Senior Division: (all five of our senior teams advanced to the elimination round)


               Chris Danks and Caleb Moore – Silver Medals


               Kayla Cook and Kasey Graves – Silver Medals


               Brandon West and Joshua Gilbert – Bronze Medals


               Stephanie Haas and Nick Kjelgaard – Bronze Medals


               Daniel Robert Spencer and Christy Wright – Bronze Medals


Junior Division:


               Dana Miyashiro and Olivia Neidhart – Gold Medals


Speaker Award – to Chris Danks for 8th Speaker in the Senior Division.



Individual Events:


               Victoria Saunders – Prose Interpretation – 3rd Place Open Division


               Chris Danks – Extemp – 3rd Place Open Division


               Nick Kjeldgaard – Extemp – 5th Place Open Division.