Friday, February 23, 2007 (All day) - Sunday, February 25, 2007 (All day)

While much of the nation enjoyed the Oscar awards show last night, the Point Loma Nazarene University speech and debate team was sweeping the honors at a different type of awards show, the PSCFA Spring Championship for speech and debate. Point Loma won First Place in the University Division by nearly double the closest competitor for this three day year end championship tournament. Over forty colleges and universities from throughout California and Arizona competed.

PLNU Senior Griffith Vertican was named the Bovero Award winner for top four year school competitors, an award based as much upon character and leadership skills as on public speaking skills. A cash scholarship accompanied this award.

Nine of the ten Pt Loma debate teams entered in the tournament advanced to the elimination rounds reserved for the top teams in each division. Point Loma Nazarene debate teams swept all three divisions of parliamentary debate, winning first place in Novice (Sarah Motte and John Walters), Junior (Cody Ellis and Katie Lucas) and Senior divisions. PLNU closed out the Senior level of debate at Semi Finals, meaning each of the four teams remaining in semi finals in Senior level debate was from Point Loma, so those four teams each tied for First Place as schools do not compete against themselves at such contests. Congratulations to those following four teams of Caitlyn Burford and Chris Gutierrez, Jordan Cherry and Angela Compton, Tim Kamermayer and Griffith Vertican, and Joel Day and Ben Kautzer, for their share of winning this closeout.

Additionally, the following five PLNU students were named to the All PSCFA Academic team, requiring a very strong GPA and consistent commitment to forensics events:

  • Caitlyn Burford
  • Linsey Diederichs
  • Chris Gutierrez
  • Ben Kautzer
  • Katie Lucas.

Congratulations to the following students and teams on the particular accomplishments noted below.

Parliamentary Team Debate

  • Tim Kamermayer & Griffith Vertican – First Place Senior Parliamentary Debate
  • Joel Day & Ben Kautzer - First Place Senior Parliamentary Debate
  • Caitlyn Burford & Chris Gutierrez - First Place Senior Parliamentary Debate
  • Jordan Cherry & Angela Compton - First Place Senior Parliamentary Debate
  • Cody Ellis & Katie Lucas – First Place in Junior Parliamentary Debate
  • Ian Sharples & Justin Thompson – Quarter Finals in Junior Parliamentary Debate
  • Alyssa Pfeiffer & Jaimee Wanta – Octa Finals in Junior Parliamentary Debate
  • Sarah Motte & John Walters – First Place in Novice Parliamentary Debate
  • Amber Briggs & Stephanie Kennedy – Quarter Finals in Novice Parliamentary Debate

Debate Speaker Awards

  • Tim Kamermayer – First Place Speaker Senior Division
  • Joel Day – Second Place Speaker Senior Division
  • Ben Kautzer – Third Place Speaker Senior Division
  • Griffith Vertican – Fourth Place Speaker Senior Division
  • Angela Compton – Sixth Place Speaker Senior Division
  • Katie Lucas – Third Place Speaker Junior Division
  • Cody Ellis – Fourth Place Speaker Junior Division
  • Leia Larson – Ninth Place Speaker Junior Division
  • Sarah Motte - Eighth Place Speaker Novice Division

Individual Event Awards

  • Caitlyn Burford - 2nd Place Junior Duo
  • Katie Conner - Finalist Novice Informative
  • Joel Day – 2nd Place Senior Extemp
  • Cody Ellis - 2nd Place Junior Extemp
  • Katie Lucas – Finalist Junior Impromptu, Finalist Junior Extemp
  • Alyssa Pfeiffer – Finalist Novice Impromptu
  • Justin Thompson - 2nd Place Junior Duo
  • Griffith Vertican – 1st Place Senior Extemp, 2nd Place Senior Impromptu
  • Brandon Walsh – 1st Place Novice Speech to Entertain
  • Jaimee Wanta – Finalist Novice Persuasion