Homecoming Schedule

Refresh - 2016 Homecoming Complete Schedule

 

For information, and to RSVP to each event, please contact the individual listed. 

For Hotel Accommodations visit plnupartnership.com

for discounted rates!


For more information call 1.800.4PT.LOMA (Alumni Office)

Monday, Nov. 14                        


9 a.m. - 4 p.m.

Art Exhibition
Nod by David Fobes
Keller Gallery
(Through Saturday)
Keller Gallery                                                                                   

Wednesday, Nov 16

3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Powderpuff Game      
Soccer Field
Daria Szepkouski, ASBexecutivesecretary@pointloma.edu

Thursday, Nov. 17

 
9 a.m. - 4 p.m.
American Red Cross Blood Drive
The ARC
Susan Ganz, sganz@pointloma.edu, Ann Davis, AnnDavis@pointloma.edu
5:30 p.m - 8:30 p.m.
MBA Executive Development Event
Featuring Warren Bartolome from LinkedIn
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Tiffany Matthews. tmatthew@pointloma.edu
6:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.
Guys in Ties/Girls in Pearls
Cooper Music Center 
Daria Szepkouski, ASBexecutivesecretary@pointloma.edu
7:30 p.m.
PLNU Concert Band
Homecoming Concert
Crill Performance Hall, Cooper Music Center
Tickets $5, Students $3
John Dally, JohnDally@pointloma.edu

Friday, Nov. 18

 
9:45 - 10:25 a.m.
Homecoming Chapel
Brown Chapel
Alumnus of Point Loma Awards
Presented to: Dr. Nell Becker Sweeden, Paula Gumm, Dr. Jeff Conner, Kimberley Berry Jones
5 - 6:45 p.m.
History and Political Science Alumni Reception
Colt Hall
Jill Monroe, jmonroe1@pointloma.edu
5:30 - 7:00 p.m.
Horizon Circle Donor Reception
President and Mrs. Brower's Home
Sarah Binsfield, Sarahbinsfield@pointloma.edu, (619) 849-2512

6:00 - 7 p.m.

MOSAIC Alumni and Friends Dessert
Garret Lounge, Third Floor of Nicholson Commons 
Kelby Sarti, kelbysarti@pointloma.edu
8 - 10 p.m.
Variety Show and Coronation
Brown Chapel
Doors open at 7 p.m.
10 p.m.
Coronation Reception
Friendship Plaza, First Church
Hosted by the Rugby Club

Saturday, Nov. 19

 
8 - 9:30 a.m.
Law Alumni Breakfast
Colt Hall
Kelli McCoy, kmccoy@pointloma.edu
8 - 10 a.m.
Research Associates Breakfast 
Ellipse Chapel, First Church
Mike McConnell, (619) 849-2469
Ken Martin, kenmartin@pointloma.edu
8 - 10 a.m.
Nursing Alumni/School of Nursing Breakfast 
Liberty Station Conference Center
Marsha Reece, (619) 849-7055, Nursing@pointloma.edu

8:30 - 9:45 a.m.

School of Theology and Christian Ministry Breakfast & Panel 
Smee Hall 100
Rebecca Laird, Pat Jafry, pjafry@pointloma.edu

8:30 - 10 a.m.

 

Business Alumni Breakfast
Fermanian Conference Center
Ben Wagner, BLWagner@mintz.com
Speaker: Erica Hansen 
8:30 - 10 a.m.
Psych Associates Alumni Event
Cunningham Dining Room 
Katie Haeuser, Cherie Owen, CherieOwen@pointloma.edu
9 - 10:30 a.m.
Family & Consumer Sciences Brunch
Evans Hall Courtyard
Susan Rogers, SusanRogers@pointloma.edu
9 a.m. - 11:30 p.m. 
Batting Practice, Baseball Alums, "Coach Land Era"
Baseball Field
Carroll Land, cland@pointloma.edu
9:30 - 11:30 a.m. 
Tennis, Alums vs. Alums
Curt Wheeler, (619) 849-2285, CurtWheeler@pointloma.edu
10 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.
Homecoming Extravaganza & Family Fun Fair
Campus Mall
Women's Auxiliary & Friends, Student Clubs & Ministries, and Alumni Auxiliaries
10 - 11 a.m.
Latino Alumni & Friends Reception
Cooper Music Center Lawn
Marshela Salgado Solorio, (619) 788-7562
10 - 11:15 a.m.
LJML Creative Writing Presentation
Fermanian Board Room 
Karl Martin, KarlMartin@pointloma.edu
10:30 - 11:30 a.m. 
Education Associates Reception
Garret Lounge, Third Floor Nicholson Commons 
Joy Straub, jstraub@pointloma.edu
10:30 - 11:30 a.m. 
Rugby Associates Annual Gathering
Smee Hall 100
Karl Sator, RugbyAssociates@pointloma.edu
11 - 11:45 a.m.
Kinesiology Alumni Gathering
Room 2, Kinesiology
Amber Webb, awebb@pointloma.edu
11:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m.
Class of '86 Reunion
ARC
Terry Shibuya, terryshibuya@yahoo.com
 
Class of '96 Reunion
Alumni Lawn
Kim (Maddox) Lipe, MaddogMktg@gmail.com
 
Class of '01 Reunion
McCullough Park
Jared Dryer, jdryer@bellco.org
 
Class of '06 Reunion
Ryan Plaza Deck
Carrie Sandys, carrie.sandys@gmail.com
 
Class of '11 Reunion
Burnham Plaza
Allison Waters, Megan Eastin, megeastin@gmail.com
12:00 - 2 p.m.
Class of '66 Reunion
Cunningham Dining Room 
Sandy Foster, profsfoster@att.net
 
Class of '71 Reunion
Ellipse Chapel, First Church 
Ron Benefiel, RonBenefiel@pointloma.edu
 
Class of '76 Reunion
Wasson Seaview Terrace
Dave Spaite, dave@visalianaz.org
Class of '81 Reunion
Fermanian Conference Center
Rich Ziebarth, zbarthrb@cox.net
John Hertenstein, johnhertenstein@yahoo.com
Class of '91 Reunion
President's Dining Room
Denise Barker, chefbarker@hotmail.com
Jonalyn Fabrin, fabrin3@gmail.com
12:30 - 2 p.m. 
Class of '56 Reunion ('55 & '57)
Home of Ross Irwin
Ross Irwin, rcirwin@parkerirwinlaw.com

1:30 - 3:00 p.m.

Mathematical, Information & Computer Sciences Department & Physicsand Engineering Department Reception
Latter Hall Room 101
Maria Zack, mariazack@pointloma.edu

1:30 - 3:30 p.m.

Ultimate Frisbee - Alumni vs. Students
Baseball Field
Tim Benefiel, timbenefiel@pointloma.edu

2 p.m.

Freud's Last Session
Salomon Theater
Tickets: $14 General Admission, $10 Students
Megan DeBoard, mdeboard@pointloma.edu
www.pointloma.edu/SalomonTheater
2 - 3 p.m. 
PLNU/NTS Alumni Reunion
Smee Hall 100
Derek Taylor, derektaylor@pointloma.edu
2- 3 p.m. 
Men's Basketball Shoot Arounds
Golden Gym
Everyone Welcome to Watch
Jordan Courneya, jordancourneya@pointloma.edu
2- 3:15 p.m. 
MUSICAlumni Reception
Cooper Music Parlor
Dana Ayer, danaayer@gmail.com
2 - 3:30 p.m.
Rugby Associates vs. Rugby Club Annual Tournament
PLNU Soccer Field
rugbyassociates@pointloma.edu
3 - 3:30 p.m.
Distinguished Achievement Awardees Reception
(For all past D.A. Award recipients)
Nicholson Commons Living Room
3:30 p.m. 
Men's Basketball Pre-Game Dinner
Cunningham Dining Room
Men's Basketball Alumni Welcome
RSVP to Jordan Courneya by Nov. 14, jordancourneya@pointloma.edu

4 - 5 p.m.

The Main Event
Crill Performace Hall, Cooper Music Center 
Distinguished Achievement Awards presented to:
Dr. Ken Martin, Rev. Norman Moore
5 - 6:15 p.m.
Tip-Off Tailgate BBQ
Dining Hall, Nicholson Commons
5:30 - 6:30 p.m.
Theatre Alumni Reception
Salomon Theatre
Megan DeBoard, mdeboard@pointloma.edu

6 p.m.

Doors open at 5:30 p.m.

Women's Basketball Game
Golden Gym
PLNU vs. Biola University 
8 p.m.
Men's Basketball Game
Golden Gym
PLNU vs. Cal State Monterey Bay 
10:30 - 11:30 p.m.
Glow in the Dark Dodgeball
Golden Gym
Starts 30 min after Men's Basketball Game
Daria Szepkouski, ASBexecutivesecretary@pointloma.edu