Friday, February 13, 2004 (All day) - Sunday, February 15, 2004 (All day)

The Point Loma Speech and Debate team celebrated Presidents Day weekend by competing at the Arizona State University Speech and Debate Tournament.  We took about half the team, and were fortunate enough to win Second Place Sweepstakes honors, just two points behind Cal State University of Long Beach.  All five of our parliamentary debate teams did well, advancing to the octafinal elimination rounds. Two of those teams, including our Senior Team of Brenden Garrett and Shannon Hutchison and the Novice Team of Britton Dennis and Peter Gohman, advanced to the final round of the Open Division of debate, closing out the final round and winning first and second places respectively.  Our Individual Events Speakers did well also, earning legs for the National Championship Tournament. 

For those of you following the year long national sweepstakes race for the National Parliamentary Debate Association, this tournament, once its points have been tallied and added in to the national standings, will effectively replace our fourth highest performance, where we earned 10 points, with a new score of 24 points, effectively raising our combined total score by an additional 14 points.  This will bring our total points to 96, from the current total of 82.  Our nearest competitor currently has 80 points, though there is still a month of tournaments where these totals can change. This is a new all time high for our program.  The team and individual results for this tournament are shown below. 

Thanks too to Jay Selnick for his help in peer coaching and judging.  Though unable to attend this particular tournament, the coaching efforts of Phil Rath and Lauren Dahlquist are also greatly appreciated.


Debate Results:

Brenden Garrett & Shannon Hutchison: Tournament Co Champions

Britton Dennis & Peter Gohman: Tournament Co Champions

Chris Champine & Ashleigh Livingston: Octafinalists

Zach Burton & Carissa Phillips: Octafinalists

Ben Kautzer & Christina MacKinnon: Octafinalists

Debater Speaker Awards:

Britton Dennis (yes, the second semester Novice) 5th Place Speaker

Shannon Hutchison - 9th Place Speaker

Christina MacKinnon - 12th Place Speaker

Chris Champine - 15th Place Speaker

Ashleigh Livingston - 18th Place Speaker

Individual Events Awards:

Christina MacKinnon:    2nd Place Rhetorical Criticism, 2nd Place Poetry Interpretation

Ashleigh Livingston and Chris Champine: 4th Place Duo Interpretation

Brenden Garrett: 2nd Place Impromptu Speaking

Britton Dennis: 4th Place Junior Impromptu Speaking

Peter Gohman: 5th Place Junior Impromptu Speaking