Christian Colleges Nationals

Friday, March 5, 2010 (All day) - Sunday, March 7, 2010 (All day)
Cedarville, OH


The PLNU Speech and Debate team was only able to take a fairly small contingent to Christian College Nationals this year in Cedarville Ohio for budgetary reasons, but those ten students still managed to win First Place School Sweepstakes in Large School Division One Debate; First Place in Division Two (of Three) for mid size entries Individual Events; Third Place in Overall Combined Sweepstakes, regardless of entry size. 

Additionally, Ashley Nuckels was named the Second Top Speaker in the tournament (missing First by one point) counting individual events and debate combined. Senior Caitlyn Burford was named the top debater at Nationals. Two PLNU debate teams closed out that final round of Senior Division team debate, being named Co-National Champions for Parliamentary Debate (Katie Lucas and Daniel Nadal and two freshmen Michelle Diaz and Andrew Schalin). Ashley Nuckels also was named the National Champion in Extemporaneous Speaking.

On the more depressing end of the tournament results, apparently all the other coaches took three steps back again during the elections part of the business meeting leaving me re-elected to another two year term as NCCFA National President, proving once again that the students are brighter than their coach. J Here are the specific accomplishments of these students. Special thanks to their professors for working with them to allow them to attend this tournament, even when it meant rescheduling some midterms, etc. . . which we are all loath to do.


Lincoln Douglas Debate

Mac Andrews- Quarterfinalist

Daniel Nadal- Quarterfinalist 


Parliamentary Debate

Katie Lucas/ Daniel Nadal and Michelle Diaz/ Andrew Schalin- Finalists and co-tournament Champions

Daniel Lawson/ Ashley Nuckels- Quarterfinalists

MacLean Andrews/ Caitlyn Burford- Octafinalists


Parliamentary Debate Speaker Awards

Caitlyn Burford - 1st place Tournament Champion – Top Debater at National Championship

Mac Andrews - 11th Speaker

Barbara Gausewitz- -18th Speaker

Daniel Nadal – 19th Speaker 



Mac Andrews- Semifinalist

Daniel Nadal- Semifinalist

Caitlyn Burford- Semifinalist

Ashley Nuckels- 2nd place

Andrew Schalin- 1st place Novice Champion



Katie Lucas- 5th

Ashley Nuckels- 1st place Tournament Champion


After Dinner Speaking

Danielle Lawson- 5th 


Novice Informative

Michelle Diaz- 2nd 



Ashley Nuckels- 3rd


Individual Sweepstakes Awards

Ashley Nuckels- 2nd Place IE and Debate Individual Sweeps (with a difference of 1 point between 1st and second)

Ashley Nuckels- 4th place IE Individual Sweeps

Danielle Lawson- 9th IE and Debate Indvl Sweeps

Caitlyn Burford- 10th IE and Debate Indvl Sweeps=


Team Sweepstakes

Point Loma won First Place - Tournament Champions in Large Division Debate Sweepstakes

Point Loma won First Place - Tournament Champions in Division 2 Individual Events Sweepstakes (based on entry size)

Point Loma also won 3rd place Overall School Sweepstakes regardless of entry size.