NCCFI Christian College Nationals Hosted at Cal Baptist

Friday, March 2, 2007 (All day) - Sunday, March 4, 2007 (All day)
Cal Baptist, Riverside, CA

Point Loma Nazarene University's Speech and Debate team won the Christian College National Championship for speech and debate this past weekend (March 2-4, 2007 at Cal Baptist University. PLNU also won First Place in the large school division for Debate Only Sweepstakes by closing out both divisions of parliamentary debate at the Senior and Junior levels. A close out also occurred for PLNU in the Senior Lincoln Douglas debate division.

The term "close out" simply means that one school has both of the competitors in a given round, in this case Point Loma. Since schools do not compete against themselves at tournaments, this means the round does not take place and the two Point Loma teams tied for First Place, or became National Champions, in Open division of Parliamentary debate, Junior Division of Parliamentary Debate.

The PLNU team also won Third Place for the Individual Events Only Sweepstakes for large schools. Combining these two areas, Point Loma captured the Overall Sweepstakes Championship, roughly doubling the points of the nearest competitor. Special thanks are offered to our alumni volunteer and assistant coaches that give so generously of their time. Here are the specific tournament results in case you are tracking particular students.

Debate Results

Senior Parli Results

  • Joel Day and Ben Kautzer - National Champions
  • Tim Kamermayer and Griffith Vertican - National Champions
  • Caitlyn Burford and Chris Gutierrez - Octa Finalists

Junior Parli Results

  • Cody Ellis and Katie Lucas - National Champions
  • Ian Sharples and Justin Thompson - National Champions
  • Alysa Pfeifer and Jamie Wanta - Quarter Finalists
  • Amber Briggs and Stephanie Kennedy - Quarter Finalists

Senior Parli Top Speakers

  • Caitlyn Burford - Tenth Place
  • Joel Day - Fifth Place
  • Ben Kautzer - Third Place

Junior Parli Top Speakers

  • Amber Briggs - Tenth Place
  • Ian Sharples - Eighth Place
  • Justin Thompson - Sixth Place
  • Cody Ellis - Third Place

Senior Lincoln Douglas Debate

  • Tim Kamermayer - National Champion
  • Griffith Vertican - National Champion

Junior Lincoln Douglas Debater

  • Ian Sharples - Second Place

Lincoln Douglas Speaker Awards

  • Griffith Vertican - Third Place Open Division Speaker
  • Ian Sharples - Third Place Junior Division Speaker

Individual Events Results

  • Tim Kamermayer: National Champion Open Extemp, 2nd Place Open After Dinner Speaking, Semi Finalist Open Impromptu
  • Angela Compton: 3rd Place Open Extemp
  • Griffith Vertican: 4th Place Open Extemp
  • Joel Day: Semi Finalist Open Extemp
  • Katie Lucas: National Champion Novice Extemp
  • Caitlyn Burford: 2nd Place Novice Extemp
  • Cody Ellis: 4th Place Novice Extemp
  • Amber Briggs: 4th Place Novice Informative
  • Ben Kautzer and Angela Compton: 3rd Place Open Duo Dramatic Interp
  • Ben Kautzer and Joel Day: 5th Place Open Duo Dramatic Interp
  • Sarah Motte: 5th Place Novice Persuasion