NPDA National CSU at Northridge

Wednesday, April 7, 2004 (All day) - Sunday, April 11, 2004 (All day)
Point Loma Nazarene University has repeated as the yearlong sweepstakes National Champions for the 2003-04 competitive season.  Last year PLNU won this award by amassing 88 sweepstakes points for the year (excluding the National Tournament) against all the other colleges and universities competing in Parliamentary Debate in the nation (and some international competitors).  This year we earned 98 points, and our nearest competitor, Whitman College, came in Second Place with 88 Points.  The Top twenty teams for this year long sweepstakes race will be shown below.  This is a squad wide honor that recognizes excellence in all three divisions of competition throughout the year, looking to a school's top four tournaments by their top two teams at any given tournament.
The National Championship Tournament, held this past week at California State University at Northridge, has a distinct sweepstakes award category for the Championship Tournament, including all colleges and universities competing at that event.   We do not have divisions based on school sizes or scholarship amounts.  This year over three hundred two person teams competed from over a hundred schools, including international entries from China and some Eastern European republics.  Tournament sweepstakes honors are based on the preliminary round records of the different schools' top four teams entered in the tournament.  Point Loma came in Second Place in the Tournament Sweepstakes honors, losing to the University of California, Berkeley by one sweepstakes point.  The top twenty Tournament Sweepstakes winners will also be shown below.  Point Loma won this National Championship distinction in 1999 when we hosted the Championship Tournament on our campus.
Finally, each two person team in the tournament is competing to see if it can advance to the elimination rounds at the Championship tournament.  I believe the most teams we have ever advanced at Nationals before has been three, possibly four.  This year we advanced five teams, and had two others just one win short of advancing.  Only Cal Berkeley advanced more teams than did Point Loma, and other than Cal, no one else advanced as many.  All five of our teams advanced through the first elimination round.  Four of them dropped in the second elimination round, and one went on to the third elimination round before falling.  Here are the names of those teams that advanced to the elimination rounds from Point Loma.
LeAnn Wiley & Chris Champine    - third elimination round
Troy Funk & Jay Selnick - second elimination round
Brenden Garrett & Shannon Hutchison - second elimination round
Andrew Hoag & Dominique Marino - second elimination round
Britton Dennis & Christina MacKinnon - second elimination round (both first year debaters)
Please join me in congratulating the hard working team members if you see them in your classes.  On behalf of the team, we wish to thank our PLNU alumni, faculty, staff and administration who have all played an instrumental role this year in helping us to reach our goals.  The Forensics Fellows that volunteered their time to help on key issue analysis in our meetings were very helpful.  Thank you all.  Thanks too for steering good recruits from your classes our way for this cross disciplinary co curricular activity.