Palomar Griffin Swing, Grossmont

Friday, November 9, 2012, 7:00 am - Sunday, November 11, 2012, 7:00 pm

This past weekend the PLNU Speech and Debate team competed in the Grossmont College Griffin Invitational Forensics Tournament. The team was joined by members of the Oral Interpretation class and Argumentation and Debate Classes.  PLNU won First Place for all schools in Debate Sweepstakes, and tied for Second Place Overall Sweepstakes, when counting individual events and debate.  We were fortunate enough to advance 9 debate teams to elimination rounds.

It was terrific to welcome the assistance of some of our recent alumni who helped to cover the judging requirements.   And looking to the future, I also had an opportunity to meet with some remarkable potential recruits for next year’s team that came down from Modesto, and flew in from Kansas.  Another terrific potential recruit from Irvine Valley College did very well in the open division of Parliamentary Debate, as she usually does.

Our final tournament of the semester will be PSCFA Fall Champs at Cerritos College November 31 – December 2, 2012.  Thanks for your continued support.

Here are the award winners in their respective events.

Grossmont Griffin

Individual Events Awards
• Mac Andrews  Open Extemp Finalist,  Open Impromptu 2nd Place
• Chris Danks Open Extemp 2nd place
• Brittany Simmons Novice Programmed Oral Interpretation 2nd place
• Josh Gilbert Open Informative Finalist,
• Dani Bartello Novice Prose Finalist
• Brandon West Novice Speech to Entertain 2nd Place,  Novice Impromptu 2nd Place
• Kayla Cook Novice Communication Analysis 3rd place

Parliamentary Debate Results:
Novice Division:
• Hannah Andrade and Mandie Lira Gold Medal
• Mallory Grismer and Brittany Simmons Bronze Medal
• Kevin Ballard and Karis Cookson Bronze Medal
• Jacquie Kessel and Elizabeth Pode Bronze Medal
• Dani Bartello and Jacci O’Keefe Bronze Medal

Junior Division:
• Josh Gilbert and Brandon West Gold Medal

Senior Division:
• Haley Courtney and Mac Andrews Gold Medal
• Ben Carney and Kayla Cook Silver Medal
• Stephanie Haas and Emily Shaffer Silver Medal

Debate Speaker Awards:
• Michelle Diaz – 4th Speaker Open Division
• Kayla Cook – 6th Speaker Open Division
• Josh Gilbert – 4th Speaker Junior Division
• Hannah Andrade – 2nd Speaker Novice Division
• Mallory Grismer – 6th Speaker Novice Division