Palomar IE's/Griffin Swing Parli & IEs - Grossmont College

Saturday, November 10, 2007 (All day) - Sunday, November 11, 2007 (All day)

Grossmont College Tournament Results ( November 10 and 11 )


The Point Loma Speech and Debate team won First Place in Overall Sweepstakes counting debate and individual awards at the Grossmont Tournament November 10th and 11th, and won First Place Sweepstake in the Debate Only category. This was the largest field in many years for the tournament with over 25 colleges and universities from California, Arizona, and Texas. There were approximately 80 teams entered in Novice Debate alone.



Several new novice teams joined us in the Grossmont tournament from the Argumentation and Debate class, five of them advancing to elimination rounds in Novice Parliamentary Debate. Danica Sandberg and Jenna Stovall, and Carolyn Searfus and Austin Wilcox both earned Bronze awards. Brandon Walsh and Elizabeth Hinton earned Silver Medals. Two PLNU teams (Josh Marble and Taylor Smith; Hannah King and John Morris) win their final rounds and received Gold Medal awards.


In the Junior Division, Grant Beeson and Sarah Motte went undefeated and won Gold Medals.


In Senior, Chris Gutierrez and Alyssa Pfeiffer earned Bronze Medals. Jaimee Wanta and Daniel Nadal advanced and lost in the final round and earned Silver Medals.


Top Debate Speaker awards:


Brandon Walsh 1st Speaker – Novice

Paul Young 6th Speaker – Novice

Elizabeth Hinton 10th Speaker – Novice

Austin Wilcox 14th Speaker – Novice

John Morris 17th Speaker – Novice


Grant Beeson 1st Speaker – Junior

Sarah Motte 2nd Speaker – Junior


Jaimee Wanta 7th Speaker – Senior



Individual Events:

Amber Briggs received 1st place in Novice Prose and 3rd place in Novice Persuasion.

Daniel Nadal was a finalist in Novice Persuasion.

Margaret Urfer was a finalist in Novice Informative, and at the Palomar tournament the day before was a finalist in Mixed Oral Interpretation along with being honored as the top Novice in the event.

David Kruckenberg and Caitlyn Burford were both finalists in Open Extemporaneous speaking.