Friday, December 1, 2006 (All day) - Sunday, December 3, 2006 (All day)

The Point Loma Nazarene University Speech and Debate team won First Place Sweepstakes honors in the Four Year School division at the PSCFA Fall Championship Tournament.  The tournament was hosted at Cal State University, Long Beach this past Friday, Saturday and Sunday.  Forty four colleges and universities from Arizona, Nevada and California competed.  Tournament officials said it was the largest Fall Championship they could remember, with approximately 200 debate teams competing.
PLNU parliamentary debate teams won First and Third Place in the Senior Division, First Place in Novice, and Second Place in the Junior Division.  This was the first tournament ever for Alyssa Pfeiffer, who with partner Jamie Wanta won the Novice division.  And in their first time ever debating in the Junior Division, recent novices Todd Heckman and Leia Larson won Second Place in the Junior Division.  Seniors Ben Kautzer and Joel Day went undefeated in six preliminary rounds of competition and won the Senior Division.  Seniors Tim Kamermayer and Griffith Vertican advanced to the Semi Finals in the Senior Division before finally dropping and tying for third place.  Many other PLNU debaters earned top team and individual speaker awards, as will be detailed below.  Individual Event winners will also be shown below.  Thanks for your continued support and special thanks to our coaches and alumni.
Debate Results
  • Senior Team Results
            Joel Day and Ben Kautzer - First Place
            Tim Kamermayer and Griffith Vertican - Semi Finalists
            Jordan Cherry and Angela  Compton - Octa Finalists
  • Junior Team Results
            Leia Larson and Todd Heckman - Second Place
            Lindsey Diederichs and Katie Lucas - Octa Finalists
  • Novice Team Results
            Alyssa Pfeifer and Jamie Wanta - First Place
            Stephanie Kennedy and Krystal Keys - Quarterfinalists
Top Individual Debate Speakers:
  • Senior Division
            Joel Day - 2nd Place Speaker
            Jordan Cherry - 6th Place          
            Ben Kautzer -  10th Place
            Tim Kamermayer - 15th Place
            Angela Compton - 16th Place
  • Junior Division
            Katie Lucas - 8th Place
            Todd Heckman - 10th Place
            Lindsey Diederichs - 17th Place
            Leia Larson - 20th Place
  • Novice Division
           Stephanie Kennedy - 8th Place
           Grant Beeson - 14th Place
           John Walters - 18th Place
Individual Events:
            Tim Kamermayer - 2nd Place Open Impromptu, 3rd Place Open Extemporaneous
            Caitlyn Burford -     Novice Impromptu Finalist
            Angela Compton and Ben Kautzer - 2nd Place Duo Interpretation
            Krystal Keys -     Novice Prose Finalist   
            Katie Lucas-       3rd Place Novice Extemporaneous
            Ian Sharples        Novice Extemporaneous Finalist
            Stephanie Kennedy - Novice Extemporaneous Finalist