PSCFA Fall Championships / CSU Long Beach

Friday, December 1, 2000 (All day) - Sunday, December 3, 2000 (All day)
CSU Long Beach

PSCFA Fall Championships / CSU Long Beach

The Pt Loma speech and debate team just returned from our Spring Championship Tournament hosted by C S U Long Beach. Thirty five colleges and universities participated. Though our team only had 5 returning members from last year's team competing and 10 first semester competitors, it still did very well, capturing Second Place School Sweepstakes honors in the four year college and university division, behind the host school C S U Long Beach. Two noteworthy highlights. Phil Rath not only came in Second Place with partner Rick Travis to USC's top team in debate, but he also won First Place Speaker in Debate, Impromptu and Extemporaneous speaking.
Second, Phil and Rick have now both qualified events for the National Individual Events Tournament coming up next April in Washington D C. But what we are most thankful for is that the van Konrad was driving managed to avoid being hit by a drunk driver that smashed into the freeway retaining wall just ahead of our van on the drive home last night. Thanks for your continued prayer support.

The specific award winners are listed below:
Parliamentary Debate:
Senior Division:
Team Results:
Rick Travis and Phil Rath - Second Place (lost to USC in finals)
Jason Anderson and Janae Magee - Fourth Place
Top Speaker Awards:
Phil Rath - First Place
Rick Travis - Third Place
Jason Anderson - Sixth Place

Junior Division:
Team results:
Jay Selnick and Gene Yonemoto - Third Place
Top speaker awards:
Jay Selnick - Eighth Place
Gene Yonemoto - Ninth Place
Novice Division:
Team Results:
Kaz Trypuc and Loriann Baker - Third Place
Josh Cangelosi and Shannon Hutchinson - Fourth Place
Sarah Barnes and Joelle Pendergrass - Third Place
Top Speaker Awards:
Sarah Barnes - First Place
Josh Cangelosi - Third Place
Kaz Trypuc - Tenth Place

Individual Events:
Jason Anderson: rhetorical criticism - Fourth Place
Chris Atwood: novice duo interp - Second Place
Loriann Baker: novice extemp - Finalist
Sarah Barnes: junior extemp - Finalist
Shannon Hutchison: novice extemp - Third Place
Joelle Pendergrass: junior extemp Finalist
Phil Rath: senior impromptu - First Place, senior extemp First Place
Brian Redfern: novice duo interp - Second Place
Jay Selnick: junior impromptu - Finalist, junior extemp First Place
Rick Travis: senior exptemp - Finalist, senior impromptu Third Place
Gene Yonemoto: junior extemp - Finalist