Friday, February 26, 2010 (All day) - Sunday, February 28, 2010 (All day)

PLNU speech and debate team won two sweepstakes trophies at the PSCFA Spring Championships hosted by San Diego State University for the major forensics programs throughout the state. Pt Loma won First Place Sweepstakes in the Four Year College division, First Place Sweepstakes in the Novice overall division, and PLNU Senior Caitlyn Burford was honored with the Bovero Award, an award given to the top overall student in our association each year, not only for her excellence in speech and debate accomplishments, but also for her service to the community, her leadership skills, and many other fine qualities. This award came with a scholarship as well.

Speaking of scholarship, Point Loma had four students named to the All PSCFA Academic Forensics Team for combining excellence in academics with forensics. They were:
Katie Lucas
Adeline Baltazar
James Wilson
Daniel Nadal

Listed below are how our students did in their different events. This was our last tournament of the year for the entire team, leaving just a few National Championships in the coming month for some of our top contenders. And though we are losing some terrific seniors, it is exciting to see the caliber of incoming freshmen and transfers who are interested in perhaps joining us next year.

Debate Results
Lincoln Douglas Debater Awards
Daniel Nadal – Gold Medal - Senior Division
MacLean Andrews – Bronze Medal – Senior Division
Ian Sharples – Bronze Medal – Senior Division
James Wilson – Bronze Medal – Junior Division
Jonothan Sonoda – Bronze Medal – Novice Division

Team Debate Awards
Daniel Nadal and Katie Lucas – Gold Medal – Senior Division
Caitlyn Burford and MacLean Andrews – Gold Medal – Senior Division
Michelle Diaz and Andrew Schalin – Bronze Medal – Senior Division
Ashley Nuckels and Ian Sharpels – Bronze Medal – Senior Division
William Koon and Brooke Rakes – Gold Medal - Novice Division
Ochuko Diamreyan and Kelsey Masters – Silver Medal – Novice Division

Debate Speaker Honors
Caitlyn Burford – 8th Speaker – Senior Division
MacLean Andrews – 12th Speaker – Senior Division
John Morris – 15th Speaker – Senior Division
Kelsey Masters – 5th Speaker – Novice Division
Kassandra Sanstrom – 7th Speaker – Novice Division

Individual Events Awards Winners

Extemporaneous Speaking
Senior Div – Ashley Nuckels - First Place
Katie Lucas – Third Place
Junior Div - Andrew Schalin – Finalist

Impromptu Speaking
Senior Div - Ashley Nuckels – Second Place
MacLean Andrews – Third Place
John Morris – 5th Place
Junior Div - Andrew Schalin – First Place
Novice Div - Adeline Baltazar – 3rd Place
Michelle Diaz – Finalist

Duo Interpretation
Senior Div - Caitlyn Burford and Barbara Gausewitz – Finalists

Speech to Entertain
Senior Div – Isaiah King- Third Place
Novice Div - Kassie Sandstrom – Second Place (no finals)

Informative Speaking
Novice Div – McKayla Carpenter – First Place
Michelle Diaz- Second Place

Thanks so much for the continued support of the campus community and the alumni whose presence is strongly felt.