Steve Collins Invitational / Modesto Jr. College

Friday, January 26, 2001 (All day) - Sunday, January 28, 2001 (All day)
Modesto Jr. College

Steve Collins Invitational / Modesto Jr. College

This weekend the PLNU Speech team sent up eight students to compete in the Modesto College Steve Collins Invitational Speech and Debate Tournament.
This was a good chance for our newer debaters to experience a road trip, and since all of our graduating seniors missed the trip for other commitments it offered a good chance to see what the next generation of debaters/speakers looks like. Early indications are strong. Over twenty schools competed from California and Utah. The competition was pretty steep with Chico State, Berkeley, U C Davis, San Francisco State and many other well established speech teams competing. Berkeley is currently the top team in the nation in both forms of intercollegiate debate.
Six of the eight PLNU students are first year competitors, the other two are in their second year of competition. The younger and less experienced Point Loma team definitely held its own. All eight students advanced to elimination rounds in both debate and individual events, with each student winning multiple trophies. Though we had a fairly small group by comparison, Point Loma still managed to win First Place School Sweepstakes Honors for four year colleges and universities! How's that for burying the lead? :-) Due to the long drive we will not arrive back on campus until 5 a.m. Monday morning,so some of these competitors may be a little bleary eyed in classes on Monday.
Here are the specific results.

Debate Results:
Novice Parliamentary Debate:
Brad Lindenmayer and Chelsea Hettrick advanced to the Final round and won First Place
Brad also won Top Speaker and Chelsea won Second Place Speaker
Junior Parliamentary Debate:
Gene Yonomoto and Jay Selnick advanced to Semi Finals before losing.
They won Third Place Trophies
Kaz Trypuc and Loriann Baker advanced to Quarter Finals before losing.
They won Fourth Place Trophies
Gene also won Fifth Place Speaker honors

Senior Parliamentary Debate:
Evan Rutledge and Jeff Anderson advanced to Quarter Finals where they dropped to one of Berkeley's top teams on a split decision, a team they were fortunate enough to have triumphed over earlier in the tournament.
Individual Events Results: Loriann Baker won Second Place in the Top Overall Speaker Award Competition based on her two First Places!
Jeff Anderson - Finalist Senior Impromptu, Third Place Novice Programmed Interp.
Loriann Baker - First Place Novice Impromptu, First Place Novice Extemp
Chelsea Hettrick - Second Place Novice Impromptu, Third Place Novice Informative
Brad Lindenmayer - Third Place Novice Extemp, Next out award in Novice Impromptu
Evan Rutledge - Second Place Senior Impromptu,
Jay Selnick - First Place Junior Impromptu, Second Place Junior Extemp
Kaz Trypuc - Finalist Junior Impromptu, Next Out award in Junior Extemp
Gene Yonomoto - Second Place Junior Impromptu, Third Place Junior Extemp