The West Coast Biological ScWCBSURC_posters.jpgiences Undergraduate Research (WCBSUR) Conference is among the oldest, intercollegiate Conferences of its kind in the nation.  The purposes of the Conference are: 1) to provide a forum for undergraduate researchers to present original data they have generated in the fields of biology and biochemistry; and 2) to foster intercollegiate interactions among students and faculty who share a commitment to undergraduate research in the biological sciences. The BillEisinger.jpgWCBSUR Conference was founded in 1976 by Dr. William Eisinger, Professor of Biology at Santa Clara University, and was hosted by Santa Clara every year through 1985.   Starting in 1986, other institutions began sharing hosting duties with Santa Clara University, including (in order of their involvement): Occidental College, Point Loma Nazarene University, the University of San Francisco, Loyola Marymount University, the University of California at Irvine, Colorado College, Pacific Lutheran University, and most recently, Azusa Pacific University.

Over the first 39 years of its history, WCBSUR Conferences have been attended by students and faculty representing 160 institutions from 31 states (see below).

Participating Institutions:

Alabama:  University of Alabama - Birmingham; Alaska: University of Alaska - Juneau;   Arkansas:  University of Arkansas;  Arizona: Arizona State University, Northern Arizona University, University of Arizona.   California: Allan Hancock College, American River College, Azusa Pacific University, Biola University, California Baptist College, California Institute of Technology, California Lutheran University, California Poly Pomona, California Poly San Luis Obispo, Chico State University, Cosumnes River College, CSU Bakersfield, CSU Dominguez Hills, CSU East Bay, CSU Hayward, CSU Los Angeles, CSU Monterey Bay, CSU Northridge, CSU Sacramento, CSU San Bernardino, CSU Sonoma, CSU Stanislaus, Chapman University, Charles Drew Medical School, Claremont McKenna College, College of the Canyons, Dominican University, Fresno Pacific University, Fresno State University, Fullerton State University, Glendale Community College, Harvey Mudd College, Humboldt State University, La Sierra University, Loma Linda University, Long Beach State University, Loyola Marymount University, Mesa College, Mills College, Miracosta College,  Miramar College, Mount St. Mary's College, Occidental College, Pacific University, Palomar College, Pepperdine University, Point Loma Nazarene University, Pomona College, San Diego City College, San Diego State University, San Francisco State University, San Jose State University, Santa Clara University, Scripps College, Skyline College, Soka University of America, Southwestern College, Stanford University, St. Mary's College of CA, The Master’s College, The Scripps Research Institute, UC Berkeley, UC Davis, UC Irvine, UCLA, UC Merced, UC Riverside, UC San Diego, UC Santa Barbara, UC Santa Cruz, University of La Verne, University of the Pacific, University of Redlands, University of San Diego, University of San Francisco, University of Southern California, Vanguard University, Victor Valley College, Westmont College, Whittier College;   Colorado: Adams State University (CO), Colorado College, Fort Lewis College, Regis University, University of Colorado Boulder, University of Northern Colorado;   Connecticut:  Quinnipiac University; Hawaii: BYU Hawaii, Chaminade University, University of Hawaii - Manoa;   Idaho: College of Idaho, Northwest Nazarene University, University of Idaho;   llinois: Northwestern University, University of Chicago, Wheaton College;   Louisiana: Louisiana State University, Tulane University, University of Louisiana at Monroe;   Massachusetts: Massachusetts Institute of Technology;   Minnesota: University of Minnesota;   Missouri: Truman State University, Washington University;   Montana: Montana State University, University of Montana;   Nebraska: Creighton University, Hastings College, Nebraska Wesleyan University;   New Mexico: University of New Mexico;  New York:  Pace University; North Carolina: Duke University, Elon University;   Nevada: Nevada State University, University of Nevada at Reno, UNLV;   Ohio: Case Western Reserve University, Hiram College, Ohio State University;   Oklahoma: East Central University, Oklahoma City University, Oral Roberts University, Southern Nazarene University;   Oregon: Linfield College, Oregon State University, Reed College, University of Oregon, University of Portland, Willamette University;   South Carolina: Clemson University; Tennessee: Vanderbilt University;   Texas: Rice University, St. Mary's University, Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi, Trinity University, University of Texas – Austin;   Utah: Brigham Young University, Southern Utah University, University of Utah, Weber State University;   Vermont: Middlebury College;   Washington: Evergreen State College, Gonzaga University, Pacific Lutheran University, Peninsula College, Seattle Pacific University, Seattle University, University of Puget Sound, University of Washington, Washington State University, Western Washington University, Whitman College, Whitworth College;   Wisconsin: Northland College; Wyoming:  University of Wyoming.