Music Events

FALL 2014 MUSIC EVENTS

Music Department events are free and take place in Crill Performance Hall unless otherwise noted. Free parking for events in Crill Performance Hall is available in the nearby Pepper Tree Lane parking structure.

VOICES OF WOMEN: Tina Sayers, soprano; Hima Joshi, soprano; Barbara Schroeder, piano

Thursday, September 4, 7:30 p.m. Free admission.

POINT LOMA OPERA THEATRE: AN OPERA GALA

Current and former students, alumni, and friends of PLOT present classic  and beloved arias and scenes from La Bohème, La Traviata, The Tales of Hoffmann, The Marriage of Figaro, Carmen, Cendrillon, and more. Special guests include rising international tenor Randalls Bills, bass Craig Johnson, and the piano collaboration of Ines Irawati. Admission includes reception following the performance.

Saturday, September 6, 7:30 p.m.  Tickets $12 general admission. $6 students. 

PLNU CULTURAL EVENTS: Paul Kenyon, piano

Saturday, September 27, 7:30 p.m. Tickets $15 adults, $12 seniors, students, military

HOT NIGHT OF COOL JAZZ: PLNU Jazz Band and Vocal Jazz Ensemble

Friday, October 10, 7:30 p.m. Free admission.

METROPOLITAN OPERA NATIONAL COUNCIL SAN DIEGO DISTRICT AUDITIONS

Saturday, October 11, 9:00 a.m.  Awards presentation immediately follows at approximately 5:00 p.m. $5 donation at the door.

PLNU CULTURAL EVENTS: DUETS BY MENDELSSOHN, POULENC, EWAZEN AND LABENSKE

Victor Labenske, piano; Kay Etheridge, piano

Friday, October 17, 7:30 p.m. $15 adults, $12 seniors, students, military

PASSIONE QUARTET: BOCCHERINI AND BEETHOVEN

Sunday, October 19, 3:00 p.m. Free admission.

CANTATE: Point Loma Singers and Vocal Jazz Ensemble

Saturday, November 1, 7:30 p.m. Free admission.

JAZZ AT THE POINT: PLNU Jazz Band and Special Guests

Friday, November 7, 7:30 p.m. Ticket information will be posted here.

POINT LOMA OPERA THEATRE: CENDRILLON by Jules Massenet

Wednesday, November 12, 7:30 p.m.; Friday, November 14, 7:30 p.m.;  Saturday, November 15, 7:30 p.m.; Sunday, November 16, 2:00 p.m. $22 general / $18 in advance; $14 students / $10 in advance.

PLNU CULTURAL EVENTS: Anna's Gift, The Way of Passion. Barry Green, double bass soloist, with guest artists.

Tuesday, November 18, 7:30 p.m. Tickets $15 adults, $12 seniors, students, military

PLNU CONCERT BAND HOMECOMING EVENT

PLNU Concert Band's "Guys in Ties, Girls in Pearls" event.

Thursday, November 20, 7:30 p.m. $3 includes dessert reception.

CIDER CELEBRATION with the PLNU Concert Choir, Chorale, and Extol

Family-style Christmas fun with the PLNU Concert Choir, Chorale, Extol, and special guests like Rudolph and Santa.

Friday, December 5, and Saturday, December 6, 6:00 p.m. and 8:00 p.m. $9 includes hot cider.

Handel's MESSIAH presented by PLNU Choral Union and Orchestra

Dr. Keith Pedersen directs a nearly 2oo-voice choir of community and student singers and soloists, accompanied by chamber orchestra, in Handel's monumental Baroque oratorio.

Sunday, December 7, 3:00 p.m. in Brown Chapel.  Free admission. An offering will be taken.

WINTER CONCERT: PLNU Chamber Orchestra

The Romantic era in Europe, as depicted by Elgar, Grieg, and Sibelius among others. Conducted by Dr. Phil Tyler.

Friday, December 12, 7:30 p.m. Free Admission.