Music Events

UPCOMING MUSIC EVENTS

All events take place in Crill Performance Hall with free admission unless otherwise noted. 

A Quiet Night of Faculty Jazz

Classic jazz improvisiation by PLNU Music Department faculty Bob Magnusson, string bass; Brenda Martin, piano; Ian Cler, guitar. Friday, September 30, 7:30 p.m.

A Hot Night of Cool Jazz

PLNU Vocal Jazz Ensemble, Swingin' Sisters, and jazz band present jazz standards. Friday, October 7, 7:30 p.m.

Alumni Composer Exposition

PLNU Music Department composition graduates present their work. Friday, October 14, 7:30 p.m.

Second Annual Piano Extravaganza

PLNU piano faculty Victor Labenske and Brenda Martin with guest pianist Kay Etheridge, University of San Diego. Thursday, October 27, 7:30 p.m.

Cantate!

Traditional and contemporary choral music by the Point Loma Singers; vocal jazz by the Vocal Jazz Ensemble and Swingin' Sisters. Friday, October 28, 7:30 p.m.

Jazz at the Point: PLNU Jazz Band with special guest

The PLNU Jazz Band presents its fall concert with special guest to be announced. Friday, November 4, 7:30 p.m. $5 general  / FREE to PLNU community (students, faculty, staff, alumni)

Point Loma Opera Theater: Franz Léhar's The Merry Widow

PLNU Music's student opera club presents the most famous operetta of all time. Sung in the original German with English supertitles and additional spoken dialogue in English. Friday, November 11, 7:30 p.m.; Saturday, November 12, 2:30 p.m.; Sunday, November 13, 7:30 p.m. $18 general / $14 seniors & military / $8 students with current ID

Homecoming Concert

PLNU Concert Band's annual "Guys in Ties / Girls in Pearls" event. Dessert reception follows. Thursday, November 17, 7:30 p.m. $5 general / $3 with PLNU ID

Cider Celebration Christmas Show

PLNU Department of Music's Christmas concert for the entire family with Concert Choir, Chorale, Extol, and orchestra. Friday, December 2, 6 p.m. & 8 p.m.; Saturday, December 3, 6 p.m. & 8 p.m. $10 general admission

Point Loma Choral Union: Handel's Messiah

Annual performance of Georg Friedrich Handel's immortal oratorio by PLNU student and community choir, chamber orchestra, student soloists. Sunday, December 4, 3 p.m. Brown Chapel Freewill offering

PLNU Chamber Orchestra: From Mozart to the Movies

PLNU Chamber Orchestra's winter concert includes works from Eine kleine Nachtmusik to Themes from Pirates of the Caribbean. Friday, December 9, 7:30 p.m.