Karen Eisenhut

Karen Eisenhut

  • Study Abroad Advisor
  • Phone: 619-849-3178

Background

What did you study in school and where did you get your degree(s) from?
I received my B.A. in Education and Sociology from Whittier College.

Where did you grow up?
I was born and grew up in Princeton Junction, New Jersey but moved out to southern California to go to college and the West Coast has become my home ever since.

What countries have you visited?
I left the country for the first time when I studied abroad in Copenhagen, Denmark. I returned to Denmark multiple times after to complete an undergraduate research project. The last two summers I have had the opportunity to live in Barcelona, Spain and Amsterdam, Netherlands. During my time in Europe I have explored all over and visited Sweden, Germany, France, Belgium, Italy, Greece, Czech Republic, Austria, Poland, Lithuania, Hungary, and Croatia.

What is your favorite place you've visited in the world?
A place that has become very near and dear to my heart is Hillerod, Denmark, where I lived with my Danish host family. There is a giant 15th century castle in the middle of town and tons of cute cafes and stores lining the main streets – over the years it has really become a home away from home.

What is the next place you would like to visit in the world?
It would probably be between Peru and Japan. Growing up my family had a Japanese exchange student and I would love to go visit her. Also I have been itching to go down to Lima, Peru where I have some extended family and get the chance to see Machu Picchu.

What languages do you speak/are learning?
I know basic levels of Spanish, Danish, and German. I am really hoping I can begin to focus on learning more Spanish.