PLNU TV and Fim Festival Celebrates 12 Years

Monday, May 17, 2010

Point Loma Nazarene University
Contact: Nicholle Jaramillo
Point TV-Channel 23
Marketing & Promotions Mgr. Advisor: Alan Hueth (619) 849-2358
Date: May 17, 2010
Written by: Nicholle Jaramillo

The Communication and Theatre Department held its 12th annual PLNU TV and Film Festival on May 6 in Salomon Theatre. Students and faculty filled Salomon to screen some of this year’s best film and television student work. Awards were handed out in 19 different categories.

The short film, Rungs, stole the show as it earned five awards throughout the night. “I forgot how much fun it is to make movies,” said Rungs Producer Jordan Olberg. “It reawakened my passion for the field, reanimated a once discarded passion.”

Olberg and Rungs Director, sophomore Madison Dyer won “Best Short Script” and “Best Film.” Dyer also picked up two awards for “Best Film Directing” and “Best Film Editing” for Rungs. Lastly, actor and student, Austan Wheeler was awarded for his “Outstanding Acting” in the film.

Seniors Chris Alexander received “Best Cinematography” and Josh Marble took home “Best Film Producer” for their film, Hotline. Marble also received “Outstanding TV and Film Performance for 2006 to 2010.”

Film majors were not the only ones recognized for their hard work. Senior broadcast journalism major, Katie Conner, received the “2010 Carol LeBeau Award for Outstanding Broadcast Journalism Student.”

“I am really proud to win the Carol LeBeau award,” said Connor. “I have worked really hard this past year trying to improve Coastline News and sharpen my own skills in reporting. I've had such great professors who constantly challenged me to do better.”

Andrea Adams, a junior broadcast journalism major also took away “Best TV News Package” and “Best Radio Feature Story.” Adams is also KPLR’s Station Manager and received “Outstanding Leadership and Service in Radio.” Channel 23 Station Manager Erika Roberts received the “Outstanding Leadership and Service in TV” award.

Point Loma 2009 alum, Shelby Martin, attended the festivities from her Dreamworks AKG studio desk by Skype to accept the “2009 McGaw Family Trust Award for Best Student Documentary.” Martin’s 25-minute documentary, Eyes of Denial, focused on her personal journey into the subject of Holocaust denial. Martin has been working at Dreamworks as an assistant producer since December, 2009.

Senior Kaley Hearnsberger received the “2010 Best Student Documentary” for her 20 minute project titled Collaborative Capital. The documentary was a runner-up for this year’s PLNU Best Senior Honor’s Project, and will be shown at a microfinance conference in San Diego later this year.

Two students shared the 2010 Award for Excellence in Media Communication. First, NBC sports anchor, Kyle Stanley, took a break from his sports anchoring job in Grand Junction, Colorado, to join the festival by webcam to receive the award.

“It was an honor to get the award. I was a little surprised because I know I'm not the typical Media Com student,” said Stanley. “Most people in my major follow film, so I expected a film student to receive the award. It was nice to see that my work was recognized, and I am very grateful for all of the doors that PLNU opened for me.”

Stanley distinguished himself as a leader in both radio and TV for the past several years--especially in the area of sports broadcasting. He is also the creator, writer, and anchor for San Diego’s NBC College Sports Desk show, a program that is aired weekly on San Diego’s local NBC station affiliate.

Senior Bryan Bangerter was the second senior to receive the “Excellence in Media Communication” award. Bangerter helped create PLNU’s Guerilla Film Society, and produced (or worked on) several outstanding short films while at PLNU-- including the award-winning musical/comedy She Sang, She Directed. She Sang…recently won first place in the comedy genre in the BestFestAmerica student film competition.

Other awards included:
Best Intro Project-Comedy: Stuck, Katherine O’Sullivan
Best Intro Project-Drama: Awake, Taylor Miller and Austan Wheeler
Best TV Show: Loma Lovin’, Erika Scopelli and Jessica Bobik
Outstanding Feature-Length Screenplay: Bottle Cap, Nicole Andelfinger

Congratulations to this year’s winners and graduating seniors.