2019 PSCFA Fall Championship Results


December 6-7, 2019 – 2019 PSCFA Fall Championship – Moorpark College

Despite only competing on two of the three days of the PSCFA Fall Champs held at Moorpark College this past weekend, and not entering any individual events, PLNU’s Debaters won Second Place Sweepstakes in the 4 year university division, competing against 36 colleges and universities, from as far away as Virginia, losing to First Place University of Utah.

And although two of our best tournaments are not yet counted in the national rankings, PLNU parliamentary debaters are again ranked in the top 7 NPDA schools in the country.  Based on our preliminary calculations, Point Loma has amassed more points than University of the Pacific, which is currently shown as the number one school in the nation.  But in fairness, they might also have tournaments that are not yet counted, as might other top contenders. Hopefully, NPDA will calculate these midyear results soon.

Eight of PLNU’s ten parliamentary debate teams advanced to the first elimination round in Parliamentary Debate. In the Open Division, PLNU was in 5 of the 8 Bronze Rounds. 4 of the 8 teams advanced to the Gold/Silver round. Here are the results below.

Open NPDA:

  • Sam Jones/Nathaniel Hosmer - Gold Medalists
  • Hannah Nelson/James Laky - Silver Medalists
  • Corinna Willard/James Shotwell - Silver Medalists
  • Olivia Owen/Nathaniel Arroyave - Bronze Medalists
  • Logan Kolssak/Caleb Klubben - Bronze Medalists

Speaker Awards:

  • 5th Place Speaker - James Laky
  • 7th Place Speaker - Nathaniel Hosmer
  • 9th Place Speaker - Caleb Klubben

Junior NPDA:

  • Brianna Hosmer/Sam Chang - Silver Medalists

Speaker Awards:

  • 2nd Place Speaker - Sam Chang
  • 5th Place Speaker - Brianna Hosmer

Novice NPDA:

  • Hannah Wald/Sarah LeGrande - Bronze Medalists
  • Brianna Seidler/Paris Swett - Bronze Medalists

Speaker Awards:

  • 7th Place Speaker – Brianna Seidler

Open IPDA:

  • Logan Kolssack - Gold Medalist
  • Hannah Nelson - Bronze Medalist
  • Sam Jones - Bronze Medalist
  • Brianna Hosmer - Bronze Medalist


  • Alex Tseng - Bronze Medalist

British Parliamentary Debate:

  • Nathaniel Hosmer/James Shotwell - Champions in Open Division, Gold Medalists

Special thanks to our coaches and alumni who help to support this group, and to each of the students’ professors and other administrators who make it possible for them to pursue this important co-curricular learning activity.